Reviews

9.1
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.4
Comfort
9.1
Property location
9.0
Facilities
9.0
Staff
9.6
Value
8.8

Reviews

    Mats Engvall
    se

    Review score

    9.6
    9 October 2018
    Nice rooms and surrounding. The staff were very friendly and assisted with tips about things to do.
    Gerald McKeown
    ie

    Review score

    10
    5 October 2018

    A lovely little boutique type hotel with a great atmosphere and run by friendly and efficient people

    Nothing to dislike.
    The atmosphere, the location, the view, and the young lady who welcomed us and gave us breakfast.
    William
    gb

    Review score

    10
    1 October 2018

    A real gem of a place - wonderful in many ways!

    Nothing!
    Everything about Garaiko Landetxea is wonderful; the location, the rooms, the decor, the breakfast and most of all the fabulous, most-helpful staff. Very highly recommended - a real gem of a place!
    Michael
    fr

    Review score

    10
    22 September 2018

    We loved the place

    One shower had no shelf for soap etc
    Fantastic situation. Easy access to Bilbao and San Sebastián. Very helpful staff who advised on what to do whenever we asked for advice.
    LUCIE MEREL
    my

    Review score

    9.6
    18 September 2018
    At our arrival we had to wait, nobody was at the reception. The hotel was like close.
    The room was very nice and comfortable, with some space for a small bed for a baby and the breakfast was delicious.
    Bonnie Oostenbrug
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    8 September 2018

    Good rural location for exploring Bilbao

    Not a problem, but be aware that parking is on the road and a steep climb to the hotel. We weren't fans of the glass wall to the bathroom in the room and the breakfast is a bit sparse for northern Europeans.
    Beautiful old house next to a church. Good base for exploring Bilbao. The owner is super friendly and has good tips. Also possible to sit in the lounge or outside for a relaxed evening. (No bar though so bring your own.)
    Brent
    ca

    Review score

    10
    8 September 2018

    Beautiful facility, gorgeous views and tranquil

    Views were incredible
    Kristina
    de

    Review score

    7.5
    7 September 2018
    The hotel is right next to the church and our room on the top floor was exactly next to the church tower. The bells started ringing at 7 o`clock. You don´t expect noise, when you choose a hotel in such a small village. The internal walls are like paper and have no acoustic protection. Very stylish glass wall to divide bed from toilet... but not much intimacy. No possibility to ventilate the bathroom. No window to look outside. Just a window where you can look outside, when you sit on the floor or when you stand on the bed and look against the churchbells.
    Very small village with a bar and a nice restaurant with a gorgeous view into the valley. We loved to enjoy the view as well from the village square, having a really good Rosado and some good Pintxos from the bar. Just half an hour to Bilbao. The hotel has a very nice and modern style.
    Trevor
    gb

    Review score

    10
    24 August 2018
    nothing
    This was a lovely experience of the Basque region
    Rolf Neukom
    ch

    Review score

    9.2
    20 August 2018

    Spanish Hideaway

    Great, lovely host, nice breakfast, beautiful house and room, perfect to relax
    Georgina
    gb

    Review score

    10
    19 August 2018

    Beautiful mountain stay with comfortable, modern accommodation and extremely helpful staff

    Extremely Helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Set in stunning mountain scenery, the property was very quiet with very comfortable accommodation, stylishly finished.
    Martijn
    nl

    Review score

    8.8
    12 August 2018
    bit noisy in the evening due to community centre next door
    elegantly designed countryhouse in a quit village close to Durango, excellent breakfast, big rooms. Nice tapas diner in Durango, recommended by receptionist.
    graves
    es

    Review score

    6.7
    10 July 2018

    Slightly disappointed

    Directions from website very poor. Shower very poor & no plug in washbasin. It was not necessary to change towels every day. No mirror in bedroom. Soundproofing appalling, we were woken by other guests alarms. Parking quite far from hotel up very steep path.
    Breakfast was good. Bed comfortable
    SaraJu2
    be

    Review score

    10
    20 June 2018
    Very nice and super cute location!
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    17 June 2018

    Really relaxing, beautiful B&B in the middle of no where yet close to so many attractions in the Bas

    The water pipes were rather nosey when the room used their shower next door - but this is expected in an old renovated building.
    Local knowledge and friendliness.
    Helen
    au

    Review score

    10
    17 June 2018
    I could not recommend this hotel more. We were fortunate to get a booking at the nearby Asador Etxebarri and this was the perfect place to stay.
    Andrew Hammett
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    2 June 2018

    Good Touring Base

    Nowhere to eat close by during mid week
    Small, remote and a good base for exploring Bilbao and San Sebastian. Good qualty at a reasonable price.
    Matheus
    de

    Review score

    10
    27 May 2018
    Impressively beautiful design, great mixture of modern and antique, also very confortable
    Priscilla
    au

    Review score

    10
    24 May 2018
    Fabulous stay.... just wish we could have stayed longer.
    We absolutely loved our stay in this gorgeous hotel. Our lovely hosts arranged a taxi for us to Asador Extebarri for lunch. When we came back we strolled in the countryside around the hotel and even tried a bit of basque tennis on the court next to the hotel. The breakfast was lovely too!
    Ruth
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    22 July 2018

    Mostly good

    Hard to find, even with a GPS
    A bit out of the way and difficult to find, but when we were running late for our booking at Etxebarri the proprietor very kindly drove us there. The rooms were comfortable and clean, lovely little village but not much open at night.
Loading reviews